Synchronicity or Coincidence? Is it chance or something more?

d5eef6_e4aab6e4cce64c6095e0826fe6c67589-mv2

Synchronicity or coincidence? How many times have you thought about a person and moments later received a text or phone call from them? When that happens, what goes on in your mind? Do you think “whoa I was just thinking about them. That’s fucking weird.” Does your rational mind kick in shortly after and dismiss it as a coincidence?

According to the weird coincidence survey, the most common coincidences are-


  • I think of a question only to have it answered by an external source (i.e. radio, TV, or other people) before I can ask it.

  • I think of an idea and hear or see it on the radio, TV, or Internet.

  • I think of calling someone, only to have that person unexpectedly call me.

  • I advance in my work/career/education by being in the right place at the right time.

  • I need something, and the need is then met without my having to do anything.

  • I am introduced to people who unexpectedly further my work/career.

  • I run into a friend in an out-of-the-way place.

  • When my phone rings, I know who is calling without checking the screen or using personalized ring tones.

  • I think about someone and then that person unexpectedly drops by my house or office, or passes me in the hall or street.

  • I experience strong emotions or physical sensations that were simultaneously experienced at a distance by someone I love.


I Invite you, for just the next couple of minutes, d5eef6_cc078722f4724eb794c227ad5ea678a5-mv2to tell your rational mind to take a hike. A little time out. It can come right back, promise! For the first 25 years of my life (I’m 26 now, so really almost my entire life) I encountered plenty of coincidences.  Sometimes I would experience a chain of them so eerie that I would even play with the idea of something bigger being at work. Not for too long, though. My mind can rationalize even the most obvious of clues. 

 I remember thinking about a cousin that I had not spoken to in years. Not just thinking about them as a fleeting thought, but contemplating whether or not they were struggling with their sexuality. I can assure you that I had no reason to be thinking about this. Not only were they in a long term relationship, they also never gave me any reason to suspect that they may be confused. After years of distance and no communication, not even two hours later I got a phone call from that cousin. Why did they call me, you ask? Yep. To talk about their sexuality. It was so crazy that I almost didn’t tell them I had thought about the exact thing that same day. It didn’t sound believable it was too perfect.

 That experience shook me up for sure. I couldn’t get it out of my head for a couple of days. What happened though, which I think happens to a lot of us, was as time went by it became easier to forget how unbelievable the whole thing was. It’s like there’s a built in forget-er. The experience lost it’s meaning somehow the further away it got.

This year has been a year of many awakenings for me. Synchronicity is one of them. Because I started to become so aware of the unseen (not by choice, mind you) coincidences went out the window.

There’s an article on The Tree of Awakening that states

“Most of the knowledge from your subconscious mind can never be passed to your conscious mind because it is too vast. So your subconscious reveals just enough for you to understand your world. But you must be open to receive this knowledge. You have to “tune in” to the universe. You must pay attention to your thoughts and to the world around you.”

Before I started to become aware, I was experiences synchronicity left and right, only I didn’t notice them consciously so I didn’t realize what was happening. Anytime I would start to look at one of those “chance” moments, my mind would say “Stop trying to find meaning in something that has no meaning, you’re going to turn into one of those loony toons who see’s Jesus in their burnt toast.”

 I’ve always needed to experience something myself to KNOW it’s truth. I can believe people or ideas, but the real earth shattering, life changing, never see things the same way, awakenings have all happened for me only through personal experience. 

Because of the significance of synchronicity, because they are so off the chain and utterly mind blowing, the famed Swiss psychologist Carl Jung contemplated this phenomenon for almost 20 years before he coined the term and published his understandings of it.  One of Jung’s favorite quotes on synchronicity was from Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll, in which the White Queen says to Alice: “It’s a poor sort of memory that only works backwards”.


d5eef6_bd145a165aad4d7f86e0b647f6788b28-mv2‘It’s very good jam,’ said the Queen.
‘Well, I don’t want any TO-DAY, at any rate.’
‘You couldn’t have it if you DID want it,’ the Queen said. ‘The rule is, jam to-morrow and jam yesterday–but never jam to-day.’
‘It MUST come sometimes to “jam to-day,”‘ Alice objected.
‘No, it can’t,’ said the Queen. ‘It’s jam every OTHER day: to-day isn’t any OTHER day, you know.’
‘I don’t understand you,’ said Alice. ‘It’s dreadfully confusing!’
‘That’s the effect of living backwards,’ the Queen said kindly: ‘it always makes one a little giddy at first–‘
‘Living backwards!’ Alice repeated in great astonishment. ‘I never heard of such a thing!’
‘–but there’s one great advantage in it, that one’s memory works both ways.’
‘I’m sure MINE only works one way,’ Alice remarked. ‘I can’t remember things before they happen.’
‘It’s a poor sort of memory that only works backwards,’ the Queen remarked.


It seems all these “mystical and metaphysical….spiritual” concepts are sort of abstract and vague. I’ve found the reason for this is that it happens outside of our everyday beliefs of what the world is, how it works and whats real and not real. Before I began opening up to how, I have to say it, magical the world really is, it all just sounded like a bunch of fluff.  The truth is, our perception of reality is small compared to the big picture, that these things, these magic things, really are happening, we just have to be ready to see it. From what I understand, human beings used to be able to see this reality. It was as obvious as the color of our hair. We have become so wrapped up in our own thoughts, that we started to ignore what was happening around us. Eventually our senses become so limited that we had to start literally relearning to see the things we have forgotten about.  It’s a beautiful thing, really.


d5eef6_c7c76db31c704231b3aa5bef6dad71cf-mv2SO. How does one experience this magical place right under ones nose? It’s simple, I think. The secret of synchronicity is to be “Consciously Aware”. If you are consciously aware of something you can immediately see and feel what others cannot. Synchronicity is a significant, highly improbable coincidence. The stronger your belief and intention, the faster your synchronicities are revealed.

Leave a comment